Dating Lesson #1- Through the Tinder Keyhole

To ease myself into the online dating scene I decided to begin with Tinder. It seemed like a bit of fun, a way to see loads of people around you and I was optimistic that this would be a good way to get some dates in the bag…how wrong I have been!

I thought I’d done everything right; I’d picked a nice smiley picture looking directly into the camera as I had read to do, I’d written a little something on myself to make me stand out and be interesting, I was all set.

After swiping left too many times I discovered I wasn’t getting many matches, which resulted in no one to speak to. I decided to lower my standards, be less shallow, and swipe right a few more times to give the chances of getting a match a bit more of a chance. I mean they could be really nice right even if they’re picture was a maybe?

And then it started. “It’s a match!”, “It’s a match!”. “Finally! I can’t wait for them to message me and we can start chatting, maybe they’ll ask me out, this thing works!”

A page full of matches, yet no one was speaking. Not a single message. I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong, I even experimented and tried to message a few people first. Nothing.

So After some tweaking of my profile I tried again. I messaged people, and actually started to get some messages back! Unfortunately they weren’t quite what I was expecting. “Hey, wanna have some fun?”

I even messaged one guy because he had a picture of him with a monk in Laos, and I’d just been there on holiday with some friends.

Me: “Hi, interesting pictures. Have you been to Laos?”

Generic Sleezy Male: “Yeah I have… Wanna f***?”

What!? Seriously!? I’ve never gone so red in my life hiding behind a phone screen! I’m not particularly one for the bed, breakfast, and leave scene so this was all pretty shocking to me. And they kept on coming. I still couldn’t figure out what I was doing to attract these kinds of guys. And then one day, I got someone to look at my profile, and it was immediately obvious. This is what I had put…

“Physically active, ambitious, thrill-seeker”

I had unwittingly put myself as active in the bedroom!

Nowadays I am much more careful with what I write, however I still find Tinder to be a difficult way to speak to guys unless you message them first, and even then the dates are still non existent. But persevere I will, as they say practice makes perfect!

Top Tinder Tips:

  1. Don’t EVER write “Physically active” in any shape or form on your profile, or any of the following unless you’re wanting to purely have sex:
  • “Bendy/Flexible”
  • “I can tie knots using only my tongue”
  • ” I like to get hot and sweaty”
  • “I like sausages”

2) Don’t lower your standards

3) It’s free, so expect some sleaze-balls looking for a quick lay.

4) Expect some weirdo’s too because there’s an awful lot of them out there!

Thanks for stopping by! Until next time,

Country girl x

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Dating Lesson #1- Through the Tinder Keyhole | thedatebookblog
  2. rosieposie161 · October 25, 2015

    Lol to be fair Soph, I think a lot of the men on Tinder are there entirely for sex, whatever your profile says. Good article about it in the Saturday Times this weekend xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cherylfoston · October 27, 2015

    I think your blog is ADORABLE, FUNNY and ENTERTAINING! I am loving it! I also, want to thank you, for reading my blog post as well. I shall be back for SURE.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kally · October 30, 2015

    Oh man! I had so much fun reading your articles! Humorous and brilliant writing! Keep on writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

